Open for visitors from 10.00am to 5.00pm on the FIRST and THIRD Sundays of each month between April and October. Our end-of-season event is the second Sunday in October, and the full details will be communicated via this page or our Website.
The Canvey Island Transport Museum is operated by the Castle Point Transport Museum Society, which is a Registered Charity.
The building that houses the Museum was built in 1934 for the Canvey & District Motor Transport Co. Ltd. and served a series of similar companies before passing to the Eastern National Omnibus Co. Ltd, which used it until 1978.
A group from the Eastern National Preservation Group then formed the Castle Point Transport Museum Society and acquired the leasehold of the depot, later purchasing the freehold.
Since then, the Museum has assembled a collection of over thirty preserved commercial vehicles as its main display, many privately owned by members and several owned by the Society.
Visitors can see classic examples from the vanishing worlds of chassis makers like AEC, Bedford, Bristol, Guy, and Leyland, and body builders including Eastern Coach Works, Duple, Harrington and Massey Brothers.
Many vehicles are fully restored, while others are being rebuilt or undergoing maintenance by their owners or groups of members in our workshops